Finals Week?

Finals week is here and with that the highest levels of stress among students. Most of the stress that students are under is self-inflected. Most students will tend to blame their stress on the heavy amount of projects and studying and papers that have to be completed with no time for extensions for any reason, professors have to have their grades in before it’s too late. Students bring this stress on themselves, and Katie Finnegan’s twitter post tells us the story of exactly what happens to make students damn themselves during finals week. Katie posted this picture to the #wrtuesdays .

B4YF9EoIcAAGRHp.jpg large

This is the exact reason that students are so stressed out when finals week makes its way around. Most students will say that that rendition of their procrastination procedures is dead on. I know that it matches mine very well. I procrastinate at every assignment that is every given to me. I always think that I will do it before it’s too late but I just keep putting it off and putting it off until it is right up to the time its due. I always mange to get things done on time but I have to do them at the very last minute. When finals week comes along and I have a million things to do, what happens most of the time is that I forget the actually studying that needs to be done and concentrate on the projects and assignments that need to be in rather than the big test that is worth a larger point of my grade. What I mean by all of this is that every student has procrastinated at some point in their life and they do it most often as finals approach.

What we need to do is find a way to cut the procrastination process in half so instead of going through 6 steps and repeating it, students will only go through 3 steps then begin the project or assignment, before it is too late. So instead of going through the denial and crisis stage we stop at the excuses and we decide that it is time to start working on that paper, assignment or project. We need to begin a conscious decision to stop the process earlier and get the work done sooner so that when the time comes to turn in those last assignments we are ready for it and we do not add more stress to an already hectic week. Make it your conscious effort to get the assignments done before the due date to relieve some of that stress that you are under. And remember, it’s not the professor’s fault, they did not give you too much work, they just expect you to be able to use time management to get it done. I know that I will be trying harder to get things done earlier then the night before they are due.

 

16 thoughts on “Finals Week?

  1. This post is so very true. There is no doubt that students definitely stress out during finals time! I for sure do. The tons of projects seem to all combine into one giant project and take over our minds causing chaos and nerves. I do have to admit, you make accurate points that most stress is brought on by ourselves. Of course, I do believe some students have very busy lives and cannot help but put things off til las minute. Some of them have full time jobs, children to take care of, etc. It makes finals even more stressful. But, for the majority of us, procrastination is our enemy. I have been in the situation that if I didn’t procrastinate, I’d be stress free! I guess you learn from trial and error. Or maybe some of us never learn.

    Like

  2. I agree that this is the case quite often, but that doesn’t mean it is ALL their faults. Don’t get me wrong, I’m no saint when it comes to procrastination either, far from it. But I also find it trough that some professors like to think that their class is a student’s only class. A ten page research paper, four finals, three portfolios, two projects, and a partridge in a pear tree later and even the most hard working student will start to feel the heat. Some stress can be avoided by being a conscientious worker, but a lot of the stress that students feel comes from the workload that comes with being a student.

    Like

  3. Procrastination is definitely a way of life, and I think it gets worse with age (for me at least). Imagine if we started an assignment the moment the requirements are given, in all honestly we would be in a much better place. So while I do have a huge course load, it should be expected, because it has been this way every year for the past four years, and I still become surprised. As much as I want to blame my professors, I have to take some responsibility for it all too.

    Like

  4. I beyond loved this picture. It is exactly how I am feeling. The stress helps push me to get my papers done. With my schedule being so busy, doing it last minute is typically the only time I have to actually get it done. All students suffer from procrastination at some point during the semester. All college students can relate to this picture. I think that is what I love the most about it.

    Like

  5. I am one who truly knows the art of procrastination. This is not generally a positive quality to have. I tend to think that I have an excessive amount of time to complete the assignment. I end up being the zombie walking around campus the day the assignment is due because I did not sleep the entire night before.
    In the “Stages Of Procrastination” picture I completely see myself and the process I always seem to go through when dealing with finals and last minute assignments. I also hope to become more proactive and start assignments earlier then the night before. I actually have begun a final assignment that isn’t due until Monday of next week today. That is completely unlike me, however, I seem to be less stressed. It feels a lot better then walking around like a sleep deprived college student.

    Like

  6. This is so very true. I tend to procrastinate often, and notice that when k do everything piles up too high and I’m just exhausted looking at my ever growing pile of work. I think if I started doing things earlier, I would be so much less stressed out with school and be happier in general. I feel like every time I procrastinate and get stressed with school it leaks into other aspects of my life.

    Like

  7. I love how your dissection of Katie’s picture was the central idea around this post! I completely agree with everything you’re saying. I’m not a huge procrastinator, and I typically don’t ever really ‘panic’ over schoolwork. It does stress me out sometimes during finals week, but if you think about it, it truly does boil down to managing your time appropriately. I think that’s one of the biggest skills you need to learn in college. I’ve already gotten more than half of my finals work done before classes are even over, because I’ve spread it all out and started early. It’s a skill that I take seriously because it means a lot less stress in the end!

    Like

  8. I am guilty of procrastination. However, this semester I have been pretty good about not letting myself fall to far behind. For example, my final portfolio for my Writer’s Mind class was not due until the 18th. I turned in the assignment on the 9th of December! This is by far a record for me. If students would stay on top of things rather than procrastinate constantly, a huge amount of stress would be lifted from their shoulders. I know that I feel instantly better knowing that my final portfolio is turned in ahead of time. I even hope to finish my photo essay for writing, research, and technology before the due date! With finals week approaching it is easy to become stressed, but procrastination on top of that can only make matters worse.

    Like

  9. I know about this all too well! There were a few times this semester I waited until the last minute and submitted assignments with seconds to spare. This tends to only happen for assignments that I don’t put too much time into. For big assignments I like to be prepared and have things done. The more I care about the assignment/grade the more time I am willing to put into it. That being said I know I should care about all my work equally but in reality I have to pick what counts more toward my grade.

    Like

  10. This is the first semester of my life where I actually tried to be proactive, instead of writing down what was due in the following days I kept a schedule of what was due for the entire semester, every time that I had a moment of free time from sports, work, and class, I sat down and would do a part of an assignment or begin something that was due. Even with this new way of managing my time I still felt the pressure build, I still procrastinated slightly, and I am still beyond stressed that it’s finals week. Take these blog comments for example, I tried really hard to stay on top of it and here I am still counting the posts I did and making sure I am going to pass this class (Not that I wouldnt love to see Bill Wolff for another semester, I just would rather graduate). I think as a college student it does not matter how proactive you attempt to be, if youre a procrastinator, youre going to procrastinate. What can we do to make that less true? I have no idea, but if anybody has suggestions I would be grateful.

    Like

  11. I completely agree with you that students put a lot of the stress on themselves during finals week by putting things off to the last minute. I know I am guilty of this most of the time. But I agree that it is all something that we need to work on. If we could get the assignments done even a day sooner to have an extra day on another project that relieves just a bit of stress we feel from the overwhelming amount of work.

    Like

  12. I can definitely agree with this post. While I am not a huge procrastinator, I am an over planner. I make unrealistic plans to do so much homework in a certain amount of time and then I panic when I didn’t get it done. While that isn’t exactly procrastination – and my overachieving probably makes some mad – it still creates stress that I put on myself. Finals week is just another instance where stress gets blown out of proportion. I think in the end, it all chalks up to time management. Thankfully, the writing arts major doesn’t have final exams and usually implements portfolios…that’s a Christmas miracle!

    Like

  13. This is my life! I always say I’m going to start something early to prevent myself from stressing out, but instead I end up waiting until the last minute. Although I find myself to work better under pressure, it’s healthier for the mind and body to keep stress at a low level. I give major props to those who stay on top of their school work and aren’t cramming 11 pm the night before a huge assignment is due.

    Like

  14. I love how a digitally-made picture like this can really apply to all of us and make us all feel like were not alone. I think that is why the internet and social medias are so popular today. It brings people together from all over the world and makes everyone feel like they are not alone in their struggles and that people can sympathize with them. That is the point with this picture- it took all of us students who are so very different from each other and made us come together in the one area we are all most common in- procrastination and stress!

    Like

  15. I think that this post is very accurate. I think that Finals week is definitely stressful for everyone. I only had one final exam and it was for my online class. However, I have been so stressed with getting all of my lat assignments in and handed in. This is due to procrastination, which yes, is self inclined. But what was I supposed to do while I had homework due in other classes before the final project was due? I hate procrastinating, but I find myself doing it often. It affects my health sometimes too. This is because sometimes I won’t eat dinner in order to finish homework, or I won’t go to the gym because the gym doesn’t have a “due date”. I think this post was very accurate, and as college students it is tough to manage all that we are asked for, however, we could manage our time more properly, so I agree with your point.

    Like

  16. This might be the realist blog post I’ve read this semester! Personally, I am a big procrastinator and when people ask me about school I tell them how it’s so stressful but most of the time, It’s stressful because I make it that way. I have put everything off to the last minute this semester (hence why I’m JUST commenting on this blog post) Managing my time is something I want to and need to work on for next semester.

    Like

Leave a Reply

