In the tweet that my classmate, Tina, posted, It really encouraged me to think. In this class, we have learned all about semiotics. In addition, we have learned about elements of composition in a photograph. I really liked this picture do to the multiple amount of ways that it can be interpreted. Of core, every picture can be interpreted differently, however, this one actually has multiple ways in which you can travel. What really dragged me into this photograph was what Tina had written with the post. She wrote, ” Which way Should I Travel”? This made me think about so many different things, which meant I must choose this photo to discuss.

In class, we learned about semiotics, and symbols. We learned that a squiggly line on top of another reline, can be perceived as a sign for a tree. We learned that a t also has multiple meanings. It can be a plus, a t, or even a cross. This picture is almost a metaphor of semiotics. It can be taken many different ways. Along with semiotics, this is similar to words. Do not tell me you have never read a text message differently than a friend has. There are so many ways in which one can interpret the same words…, which are still semiotics. Words and letters are still symbols!

Besides semiotics, this photograph uses some of the composition elements in photography. According to Rowse’s article, The 5 Elements of Composition in Photography, the elements are pattern, symmetry, texture, depth of field, and lines. I feel as if this picture did a good job doing this. The picture is not completely symmetric, but appears to be that way. The depth of the field is also visible along with lines. In this picture, there are the literal lines that the paths make, and the lines from the trees.

This picture opens up so much opportunity for discussion. It also was taken during a great time in the day. I love the amount of light within it because it is in all of the correct places. Photography was not just pushing a button here, because there is meaning behind this picture no matter who the person looking at it is.

It creates a sense of hope for me. It shows that you truly create your own destiny, which is another reason why I chose this photo. We are all college students and are faced with many decisions to make. I hate making them. It proves that by going to college we are creating our own destiny. However, the decisions never stop coming about.

According to Berger, “ a photograph is a result of the photograph’s decision that is worth recording that this particular event or this particular object has been seen” (292). I could tell that my classmate Tina, made it a point to take this picture. These kinds of pictures should be shared with the world. With words, it is easier for one to make their point. If you are arguing a side you can simply write I agree/ disagree with this and here is why. However, in a photograph it is more complicated than that. A photograph can make one think much harder than they ever have reading a text.

For example, what can one take away form this photo?

One may say that she is nervous about her body image, one may say she is reflecting her beauty. The possibilities are endless. This is why photography is so interesting. There are so many interpretations that can be taken. So many messages can be conveyed from one same photograph. As the viewer of a picture, you may try to find meaning as to why the photographer took this image. One can come up with all kind of reasons why that the photographer themselves may have never had the attention of. However, that is the beauty of it all. You never really know. With words, it is all so clear. You know the author’s stand.

It is sort of like reading a book that you are obsessed with. Finally, the movie comes out and you see the movie. However, the characters are not how you pictured them and now you are disappointed. With images, that disappointment never really goes away.

Looking at simple pictures is now different for me after learning these composition rules. I will see a picture in the student center of my college campus and begin to analyze it. That is completely okay.

References:

“5 Elements of Composition in Photography – Digital Photography School.”Digital Photography School RSS. Darren Rowse, n.d. Web. 03 Dec. 2014.

5 thoughts on “

  1. I agree that this picture can bring up multiple ways of looking at it, depending on the receiver. While many people looking at this consider the ways they can move forward, I found myself wondering what it would be like to turn around, go back, and take another road all together. It is always fun to hear peoples perspectives on things, especially because there may be a path/choice that someone didn’t think of before and brings a new light to the subject completely.

    Like

  2. I really liked this picture too, but more importantly I felt encouraged by your post to try and look at the picture from different perspectives. I realized that not only can this picture be seen differently per person, but it can also be viewed differently from just one person depending on where they may be in life. This was a great picture to showcase for your post.

    Like

  3. I really love Tina’s photo that you used. It does display so many of the elements of composition that we are suppose to use in our photo essays. The photo can be interpreted in different ways but I also like how Tina labeled the photo saying, “which way should I travel?” I especially appreciate the way the trees can represent lines and symbols. Great examples used in your post!

    Like

  4. Your blog post really captures what photography is about. A photo’s meaning is not black and white like the written word can sometimes be. A photo meaning is completely up to the person viewing it and every time they look at it, the meaning could change based on experiences. Your discussion about the elements and the choice to take the picture when and where she did was interesting and really makes you think about what it could take to become a photographer.

    Like

  5. Wow, you probably did a better job at analyzing my photo than I could have done :). I really agree with everything in your blog post. I love how you wrote that you can tell I took this picture on purpose because I did. I was walking back from the trail we took, I didn’t notice the picture that could have been captured on first but on the way back I noticed and stopped right in my tracks and snapped it. I actually was impressed by it I felt like it was the first good picture I took. You discussion about the elements was spot on and the picture of the cross does resemble the shape of the photo. Great job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

