The Withering and The Blooming – Photo Essay Proposal

In and around my hometown of Sicklerville, New Jersey I have noticed a large increase in the amount of high-end stores. While this may not seem like such a big deal, in comparison to the amount of high end stores moving in, there has also been a large increase in the amount of abandoned homes and buildings. Through my photo essay, I would like to explore this topic.

In order to show the extent of this change, I plan to travel around my hometown and to some of the areas around it. The first place that I plan to take photos of would be at the Turnersville Friendly’s. I have chosen to start off with this clip because I want to hit the audience with the severity of a closed down business on the first slide. Next, I would like to be able to visit some parts of Clementon or Pine Hill, New Jersey. I have chosen these two places because they are the closest areas to me that deal with a great deal of poverty. The photos would concentrate on the run down and/or abandoned homes in order to show the extent of poverty that is experienced there compared to the bloom of upscale shops. From there I plan to capture some photos of the various high-end stores located in The Shoppes at Cross Keys. This particular plaza was built a few years ago, and only contains high-end shops. I believe that this would be a great place to take pictures of, because there is a variety of these high-end stores, which will help to show just how many of these stores at all. While these are the only two specific places that I have picked out, I would like to also incorporate photos from places like Cherry Hill, Glassboro, Camden, and Pine Hill. I believe that places such as these would provide me with the proper amount to material to prove my point.

Based on the fact that I plan to deal with a topic as serious as this, I want my photos to “feel” two different ways. When showing the photos of the abandoned homes/buildings, I want my photos to have a cold and lonely feel to them. In order to do this, I plan to color grade the photos to make them bleaker than they are originally. On the other hand, when showing photos of the high-end shops, I plan to color grade them as well; however, I will make them much brighter and more vibrant than they are originally. I believe that by editing the photos this way, I will be able to show a much better contrast between the two elements shown in them.

The media I plan to use is a Canon Rebel T2i. While this camera is a modern DSLR, it is an older and less expensive model. This is important to the overall theme of this photo essay because it is also an older model which is often pushed aside for the higher-end cameras, much like the abandoned businesses being left behind for the higher-end shops. For editing and effects, I plan to use Adobe Photoshop CS6 and a variety of practical effects, such as broken glass to make the image look shattered or fragmented and weather or burn them and scan them back in to look like they have been damaged.

Overall, I am looking forward to this photo essay and seeing how I can bring my ideas to life using photos.

One thought on “The Withering and The Blooming – Photo Essay Proposal

  1. This sounds good, Stephanie.

    Just be careful when going around the abandoned homes and businesses. Be sure to have something else with you and to let people know exactly where you are going. One never knows who is squatting in an abandoned structure….

    Thanks,
    BW

    Like

Leave a Reply

