Photo Essay Assignment Proposal: Nature vs. The Human Footprint

The goal of my photo essay is to demonstrate how something as beautiful as nature is being impacted by the human footprint. Many of us overlook the beautiful sunrise that occurs in the early morning, and turn a cold shoulder to the countless amount of trees being cut down to build yet another building complex. We are loosing sight of the beauty that we are stealing from our world just for the sake of our wants. I want to show how if we continue on in this manner how it will be ultimately devastating for our future generations. What beauty will they look forward to seeing if there is no natural beauty left?

There are many “subjects” I would like to hit on throughout this photo essay assignment. One being I would like to show pure nature. By this I mean I was to show trees, a sun rise, and things that have yet to be impacted by the human footprint. The next subject I would like to include is juxtaposition. I want to show the contrast between nature and human impact. For example I may take a picture of a sunset with a sign for a business in the background. I want it to ultimately show the turn in how our world is interpreting and interacting with nature. Are they seeing it with no interference or are they viewing that sunset with a large sign standing in their way? The final subject I would like to include is what will happen if we continue on in this manner? I want the viewers to think about  What is the human impact took over nature? 

I plan on taking my photos in color only. I want the viewers to get the full impact on how beautiful nature is in its pure state. I do not plan on using any filters, however, I am still open to learning and testing out some of them. I also would like to test out taking pictures at various times throughout the day. I thought “Lighting Weather, and the Subject” by Professor Bill Wolff showed great example of how the time of day can effect and create new meaning in one setting. Although I plan on taking my pictures in a variety of settings I feel that it will still impact the overall feeling and meaning behind my photos.

As far as the type of camera I will be using, originally I planned on using a disposable camera but just recently have decided upon using my cell phones camera. I feel that this might cause a contrast; that although I am using something made from the human footprint, it is recording something as beautiful as nature.

One thought on “Photo Essay Assignment Proposal: Nature vs. The Human Footprint

Leave a Reply

