You Are What You Eat Mashup


Reflection 1:

Working with iMovie and creating a video mashup on obesity was very similar to writing on obesity. Since I have written about obesity in the past, it was easy for me to compare writing on obesity versus creating film on obesity. I feel as if both the writing and the video portrayed the message the way they were meant to. However, using iMovie was much more intricate and favorable. This is because there were many tools provided by iMovie that can make the overall message of the topic more interesting. iMovie allows you to create a video that can cause multiple interpretations between viewers. This is overall better than writing because more than one message can be represented by the same clip. As for traditional writing, you may need to write multiple sentences to display your purpose on a message throughout the piece.

All in all, the process of writing and creating an iMovie were mostly similar. For example, the process of getting started was the same. Brainstorming for writing and creating a video were very a like. Brainstorming for traditional writing consisted of jotting down ideas while brainstorming for my video mashup, I had created a storyboard. Although these were visually different, the idea was similar, and appropriate for the final product. After brainstorming, all my ideas were set in stone and I was able to start creating my video the same way I would begin writing. The video was laid out with a beginning, middle, and an end. The beginning was an introduction to some of the main ideas of the topic. The middle was more descriptive giving more detail on the topic, and the end wrapped up the main ideas. While writing, my process is the same. Mostly all of my writing has been layer out in that order.

As for iMovie, I had a terrific experience. Since I have used Windows Movie Maker in the past, the concept of creating a video was not very difficult for me. iMovie itself was very straight forward and easy to use. The program had many tools that were used in my video to help portray my message. For example, I used the reverse tool to reverse a clip of a woman eating a taco. This was meant to show how people can overcome obesity by not eating the processed foods.

The most difficult part of creating an educational video mashup for me was to find the clips for the video. All my clips were found via Youtube. I found this task difficult because there were many concepts on my topic that I wanted to make known in my video. For example, I wanted to show different types of harmful foods. This included processed foods, genetically modified foods, and different types of fast foods. My mashup also had to include the educational footage from the 1950’s, as well as people struggling from the disease. Once all my clips were found, it was only a matter of getting started. After that, my process moved very quickly, and my video was made in no time.

Reflection 2:

My mashup video includes many messages that may be interpreted differently to the viewers. These messages were strategically placed to represent semiotic theories learned in class. Before creating my video, I had an idea of what semiotic theories I would use in my mashup video. What I had come to realize, was that many of these theories were incorporated without even trying.

Intertextuality, juxtaposition, and montage were employed into my mashup video. Intertextuality was shown at :55 of the video mashup. The clip presents a very obese woman. The clip to follow is an ambulance driving away. These clips together display intertextuality because they are describing a relationship. Being over weight can lead to severe health issues, which will eventually lead to some type of hospitalization. Juxtaposition was shown at 1:15 of the mashup. The clip is of two chickens side by side. The chicken on the left represents the growth of a chicken in 1950 while the chicken on the right represents the growth of a chicken in 2008. The two growths are being compared, and it is clear to see that in 1950, chickens did not grow so abnormally fast. Montage is shown at 1:50 of the video mashup. There is a series of clips shown that are followed by one another in a quick motion. These clips are of different types of school lunches, and result in a clip of obese children.

I used Sean Hall’s book, This Means This, This Means That: A User’s Guide to Semiotics, to help assist me we another five semiotics to include within my mashup video. The other five semiotic theories that can be found within my mashup include, metaphor, problem/solution, symbolism, past/present/future, and irony. A metaphor that was displayed in my video is at 2:20. This clips shows a scene from the television show, The Walking Dead. The scene is of a group of people running from a group of zombies. This is meant to represent us the people, running from the food companies, or, in this case, the “monsters”.

Problem/solution was shown at 2:32 of the mashup. A woman is shown eating a taco, and then the clip is shown in reverse. This is meant to portray how the problem of eating processed foods, can be solved be not eating the processed foods. Hence why the woman was then shown taking the taco out of her mouth. Symbolism is represented in the mashup as well. Symbolism is shown multiple times throughout the video. One specific form of symbolism which is represented throughout the video would be the use of pig clips. While pigs throughout the video are used to represent farming and meat, the pigs are also a symbol to represent how certain foods have turned people into “pigs”.

Past/present/future is displayed in my video mashup. Past/present/future is shown at 1:15, the clip of the chickens that was mentioned prior. This clip shows how the chickens were tended to in the past. The present and future is shown in this clip as well. The larger chicken represents the present and the future. This is because the chickens today grow abnormally fast due to GMO’s, and the future will consist of the same treatment if the people do not put a stop to it.

Lastly, irony was displayed in my video mashup. An ironic clip that was shown in my mashup is at :39. This clip shows plastic water bottles being filled. Many people may question, “why is water being shown in this video? Water is healthy!” That is the ironic part about it. Although water is healthy, the chemicals that are in the plastic bottle make the water unhealthy in the long run.

Leave a Reply

