Lover Totter

Reflection 1:

Being this is the first time that I have used iMovie, I found this experience quite challenging. At first, it was hard to figure out the details, including how to download the video using download helper, and how to then import the video into iMovie. Just as in when starting a paper, figuring out what clip to begin the video with was very difficult for me. I had to think about my specific topic for a while in order to brainstorm what I wanted to do for my video. I envisioned what I wanted it to look like in my head and tried to think of movies or clips that I have seen with those elements in them. I do this exact same thing when about to work on a paper.

Instead of staring at a blank screen or piece of paper for hours, I do my brainstorming while I am doing other things and have a free minute. Then, when I have most of my ideas formed and feel that I am ready to start; I go to the computer and put down all my ideas while beginning to write the paper. In the video, I had to do a lot of planning. This was so that when I opened up iMovie I was not spending hours and hours on YouTube or Google searching for videos and ideas.

After writing a paper, I am a strong believer in making writing a social process. Therefore, after writing a paper I always show my roommates, or my friends. One of my friends is an English major and she is much better at grammar, therefore; I email her my papers to look over sometimes. After producing this video, my roommates have gotten the privilege of watching it over thirty times. Every time that I would finish 30 seconds or so worth, I would have them watch it and ask them questions. For example, I would ask, “Does this fit? Do you think I should change the song”? I think that it is important to make sure that you take in other people’s opinions in the writing process along with the process of making a video mash up. Just as in my writing, I sometimes make a sentence that makes sense to me, but then my friends will not understand the message I am trying to get across. In the video, I thought that I got the reference of the clouds, but then they did not, so I explained it to them and it furthered their understanding. They told me to keep it in there after hearing my explanation.

Most of my papers throughout my college experience have received positive feedback. Therefore, after I write a paper, I feel good about showing it to people. I am not apprehensive or afraid to show them my writing and receive any feedback that they may give to me. Even though I surely was proud of my video, I found myself being very nervous and vulnerable whenever I would show them. This was probably due to my lack of video mash up making skills. However, after working more with the software for weeks, I became more confident and it was a great feeling. After showing them my final video, I could see that they were impressed, and quite proud of me. I feel like they have been through this journey that I have suffered form making this video, and felt happy that I accomplished what I did. Each second of the video took planning, just as every word you state in a paper could make all the difference.

There were drawbacks, and positives to each of these mediums. With writing, it is sometimes boring. Sometimes after peers read what you have written, they have skimmed it or have not seemed to be interested. I noticed a difference after showing my roommates a paper and this video. I feel like the video makes sure that they are paying attention, and watching. It seems to be a much stronger format to construct an argument with. However, while writing, it is easy to make changes. If something does not work, such as sentence structure, it is usually an easy fix. After working so hard to create such small amounts of time with the video, it was frustrating that I could not just simply fix something. Writing is a much faster process, but making the video was also a lot of fun and much more intriguing along with interactive.

Reflection 2:

This mash up is quite complicated, but all of the aspects combine to make up one big topic. The message that I was trying to get across was that love is different than it used to be, and portray the reasons why. The reasons for the whys are movies, and the idea of what love is that they imply. Men and women have the idea that real love is like the movies, but it is not. Also, technology has changed love. Technology increases the temptation to cheat. It also lessons the amount of time that you are actually spending with your loved one. As seen in the video, boys used to pick girls up at the door, and now they just text girls “here”. In addition, when going out to eat, instead of conversing about one another’s days, they are texting. I also incorporated the ways in which we dress, the culture among college students, and false perceptions of marriage, that often lead to divorce. It also contrasts the older generation with the new one. For example, as seen via broken chairs, when something was broken they used to fix their relationship, and now we just move on to the next person.

In more detail, in the beginning of the video I used montage by adding in multiple clips of love in the movies such as the Notebook, and A Walk to Remember. Within each of those movies, and in most of my clips that were from movies, a lot of intertextuality was involved. I chose these clips from these movies specifically because they are the most popular ones that people think of when thinking of a romance film. By adding that intertexuality in, it helps to create my argument that these movies create a stereotype for what love is. You can see that the couple is in love, but if you know more about that movie, it would have added to your comprehension of the video. I added the clouds into my video as an extended metaphor. The clouds represent dreams and how they are being destroyed. They also stand for calmness, then this new generation takes over, and a storm is created. In the footage of the 1950’s wedding, I made the groom walk down the steps multiple times to show hesitation and also the fact that people are now getting married more than just once. In terms of juxtaposition, I used multiple places to create contrast. A specific example is that I placed the couple from Titanic kissing next to a couple from the hookup generation at a college party.

In order to dramatize the loneliness of the woman eating alone, I had her head turn very slowly back and forth in order to get the effect that she was looking for someone, or to emphasize that she was alone. Another aspect that I played around with was making the bride walk forward down the aisle, and then having her walk backwards down the aisle to symbolize divorce. More juxtaposition was created by showing a wedding followed by a montage of videos from the hookup culture such as condoms in the road, drinking, making out, and the way we dress. I then took the way we dress and compared it to how the generation as a whole used to dress, properly. I showed them walking backwards to show that this new way of dress is bringing us backwards, or pulling us down.

In terms of semiotics, I feel as if my video demonstrates stereotypes, metaphor, irony, past, present, future, symbolism, and fast & slow techniques. A metaphor besides the clouds is the child ripping the piece of paper, which stands for divorce. Irony is seen when throwing out the chairs. It is ironic that people are throwing out valuable items, when they can be fixed or used in other places. I used the idea of Sean Hall’s present, past, and future by showing each aspect of where I think love is headed. I showed the past, today’s culture and added in how we are running away into the storm for the future. I demonstrated symbolism by adding in the hearts at the end of the clip when they are eating dinner. Also, the semiotic theory of fast & slow was used by slowing down moments such as the Titanic kissing scene. Certain clips were faster such as the kissing of the new generation, or how fast they were walking backwards down the aisle in the wedding.

Works Cited

Hall, S. (2012). This means this, this means that: A user’s guide to semiotics. 2nd Edition. London: Lawrence King.

Leave a Reply

