Bullying and Inequality Video Mashup (Reflections)

Reflection 1:

Before beginning this video mashup, I had no prior experience in movie editing or YouTube uploading. To be honest, I felt very apprehensive and nervous at first. Of course, I had heard of the process of editing and uploading content onto the internet before. The process of doing it myself did cause me some hesitation. Luckily, I purchased my first Macbook a couple of months ago. I have glanced over iMovie in the past but never actually used it in detail. I personally enjoy many different YouTube channels and am subscribed to several. I tend to take notice to the video content and editing above anything else. Therefore, I aimed to provide similar content for my mashup video.

The most difficult process for me had been transferring a video from YouTube to an MP3 and then placing it into iMovie. This took me several attempts to figure it out. Luckily, I counted on good old YouTube to help me. Once I typed in my concern in the search bar, several videos came up that offered helpful advice. Once I understood the process, I could easily convert to MP3 myself. The next challenge seemed to be figuring out iMovie itself. The trimming, the audio and the visual effects. Because iMovie has so many options, it can look quit overwhelming at first. I decided the best thing I could do is just sit and look through all of the features. In doing this, I familiarized myself in the editing process. Like most tools of technology, everything looks foreign at first until you actually begin. Once I got the hang of iMovie, I felt like everything else evolved smoothly.

The overall video editing and creation of this mashup does indeed relate to traditional writing. In traditional writing, it is important to send a message through text. This is also true for creating visual content in a video. Even though I did not use literal texts, I still portrayed a message and story behind each image and video clip. This entire experience of becoming familiar in editing and uploading videos is something that I had never done before. Just like taking a pen to paper for the first time, you feel apprehensive until you actual do it for the first time. The overall process is one that I think I’ll be able to benefit from in the future.

Refection 2:

For my mash-up video, I decided to choose the topic of bullying and discrimination in schools. I feel this is a strong topic that can be looked at through many different perspectives. There is no question that bullying is an issue in our society and has been for quit some time. Because I can relate to bullying myself, I had a vision of the types of clips I’d be adding to my video to represent the emotion the victim feels. I chose to focus my video clips on the feelings and emotions that those feel as a result of being picked apart by others and feeling not good enough.

A lot of my clips use juxtaposition to contrast from the outcasts to the “cool kids.” I used also added clips that don’t necessarily demonstrate a literal image of bullying but the message is still clear through the emotion behind the clips. (i.e, a dark empty room, disappearing of objects, a long road that has no end.) I chose to use intertextuality in the clips of Whiney The Pooh. One clip (1:14) is of Piglet being pushed along and almost suffocated by a giant leaf. In this scene, Piglet looks helpless and lost. This is often the emotion one feels that is suffering from inequality and bullying. If you have previously heard of Piglet from Whiney The Pooh you’ll remember he is famous for being different and never quit fitting in.

The semiotics I used throughout my video are, metaphor, symbol and representation. In several scenes, I chose not to use people but objects instead to set the tone of the video. For example, at (2:44) there are balloons going up in the sky and drifting apart. This symbolizes losing ones self and drifting off into a state of loneliness.

Despite the video being a montage in itself, I also used this technique by adding clips of old movie trailers from the 1950’s-1960’s. This broke up the video and transitioned each clip from a past video to a future one. Another theory I used is gesture. This particular moment is at (0.15). The girl is holding her books up the her chest and crying as if she cannot take anymore. You can clearly understand her state just by looking at her hands and facial expressions.

I also used stereotypes throughout the video by contrasting from the cool kids to the outcasts that don’t fit in. Throughout many of my clips you can easily see the differences of emotion in those social groups. The cools kids look happy and at peace in their skin and the kids that don’t fit in look depressed, lost and lonely.

Leave a Reply

