Everyday Interpretation

Everyone interprets things differently. From songs to books, everyone develops their own way of interpreting what the creator is trying to convey to the viewers. However, when we are trying to interpret meanings behind topics that are in code, it may be a little tricky. In This Means This This Means That by Sean Hall it states “Usually, when a message is difficult to interpret, we look beneath the surface for the deep structures, unconscious foundations, hidden symbols, and underlying patterns that may support it.” (Hall, 129). I know personally I have major difficulty decoding text messages. In the picture below I began to give myself a head ache as I attempted to decipher what each abbreviation meant. Without knowing any clues on the code or the people who are speaking it is hard to interpret what these abbreviations/codes stand for.

Google images: https://bisthenewb.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/6b8bf-text1.jpg

In This Means This This Means That, Sean Hall states that interpretation “…can go on forever. This is because we can always take things in new and different ways…” (Hall 130). For example, how do you view the following picture?

Google images: http://magicandmemories.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/20131002_073628.jpg

I have heard many variations of what this fountain is interpreted as, however I now have my own interpretation of this fountain. During my last trip to Disney my six-year-old sister, Ava, noticed that the crown which is painted behind Cinderella looked as if it was on Cinderella’s head from where my sister stood. However, I begin much taller than my sister got the view that is shown above. I simply saw this is a fountain that had Cinderella in it.

It just goes to show that no matter what age we are we still interpret things differently, most of which depend upon the factors in our daily lives. Overall, I feel that ones entire life causes them to interpret situations in the ways that they do. For example my sister being six, she views the world through a different lens then I do. I tend to overlook the small details in life whereas she pulls them out and feeds on them. We all interpret things differently, but I think that make’s us, unique.

Google Images:http://fromscreentotheme.com/CloserLookCinderellaFountain3.jpg

-Ashley DeBella-McNemer

8 thoughts on “Everyday Interpretation

  1. Ashley, I like the way you included the texting abbreviation chart. Many of times I have gotten a text message that had included an abbreviation that I had to look up online. I also love the Cinderella example you included in your post. It is really interesting how you and your sister both perceived the statue of Cinderella. The pictures in your post really helped my visualize the scenario you had mentioned about Disney World.

    Like

  2. I also really liked the inclusion of the Cinderella fountain. I remembering hearing about the crown before but it makes sense to be a foreshadowing element to a kid of smaller height to look at the statue and see the crown on her head.
    I liked that you talked about interpretation in view of our perception of things. My dad often texts me with text abbreviations that only he can understand and it is hard for me to interpret the meaning from, therefore I get confused.

    Like

    • I personally have heard many stories related to the Cinderella statue, however, I have never heard of anything to do with the crown behind her. I truly found it interesting that it took my six year old sister to show me her interpretation of it for me to see it.

      Like

  3. Wow! I have never seen some of the abbreviations in the chart above! It is interesting to see some of them, because I would have guessed completely different things. For example, when I read C/S, I thought computer science. It is true that everyone’s experiences are different. I also thought the point about the Cinderella fountain was very interesting, because like you, I am taller than a 6 year old and might not have noticed the crown.

    Like

    • I also have never seen many of the abbreviations on this chart. That is actually one of the main reasons I chose it. There are so many different types of abbreviations that I simply cannot keep up with the trends.

      Like

  4. I as well never knew some of those abbreviations existed. It’s interesting how many things have so many different meanings and we give them meaning. Just like how “bae” is randomly a new thing now. Also words like “Ard” meaning alright, and “Obvi” meaning obviously. Interesting.

    Like

  5. I like how you included the text abbreviation chart, half of them I knew instantly yet the other half I have never seen before. I think that because everyone interprets things differently based on their own past experiences abbreviations don’t work unless everyone is made aware of what they are. Sometimes my dad who is not so tech savy tries to make up his own abbreviations and will send me messages that are impossible to decode, but he thinks its hilarious and that everyone knows exactly what he is trying to say even though in reality nobody has a clue. I think that basically sums up life, people don’t realize that we all think about things differently and sometimes the end result of the thought process is different too.

    Like

  6. Like you stated in your post, the texting chart gave you a headache, and I totally agree! After reading that chart, I have no clue what some of those abbreviations mean nor have I ever seen them before. It is interesting to think that we feel the need to abbreviate everything as if we don’t already now. And by abbreviate I mean create nonsense that doesn’t even make sense as an abbreviation. I also found the Cinderella fountain very interesting. I went back to your post and read the part where your little sister saw the crown on her head and you saw it as being behind her. After further looking at the picture, I can see both views. You would think Disney would want it to be viewed as “on her head” since she is a princess after all but then why not create the crown as part of the statue and not painted behind her? All of these are left to interpretation based on the viewer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

