Land of the Free, Home of the Broke

For my video mash up I would like to focus on the topic of homelessness in America. 

Why? Because…

According to the National Alliance to End Homelessness, over 610,042 people experience homelessness on any given night in the US.

And that makes me sick. There is a lot of ignorance surrounding the topic of homelessness, when in reality nobody chooses to live on the streets, and nobody thinks it is going to happen to them. Homelessness is a great topic for this mash up because while it is common knowledge that people do not have homes and I feel that people turn the other cheek, I want to be an advocate for the statistics and give a face to the 44 million people that are currently homeless.

As a future educator I have learned a lot about the poverty line and the achievement gap, but nowhere in any of my college textbooks does it talk about the students who are living in Camp Tents or moving from shelter to shelter every night. Right now in America a child is born into poverty every 33 seconds. While I don’t feel that I can single handedly solve this issue, I feel that if I can create an awareness, it could create a domino effect and could resolve much of this.

For my mash up, I plan on using images and clips based on the children that are directly affected by this. The people who have any idea of homelessness are quick to judge, and quick to think of it as people who lost jobs and housing because of their own choices, or drugs and alcohol; not many people think of the children who had no say in the situation whatsoever and my goal is to bring this to light.

Leave a Reply

