Alone.

For my video mashup I have decided to focus on bullying in schools.  We are all aware that bullying is something that is being taken very seriously today in schools, but back when I was in middle school it was something that was brushed under the rug.  The schools advertising a “No tolerance policy” were more for show and not for actually helping the students.  Students that were bullied, like myself were told to “just ignore them” and “we will tell them to leave you alone”.  Causing students to have to constantly avoid their bullies.

What we don’t hear about on the news is the feelings that come with bullying.  We hear about the details of the incident, what happened to the bullies after the fact, but we never hear about how it leaves the person being bullied feeling.  From experience I never wanted to tell people I was being bullied because I felt embarrassed.  I didn’t want to bring any attention to the fact that I was being picked on and made fun of.  And when someone finally told a teacher what was going on, I didn’t feel relief, I felt like I was being forced to relive what these people said to me.  Having to tell people the details of my bullying was worse than it actually happening.  Because I knew nothing would be done, I felt like it was a waste of time and in the end nothing was done.

I think more light needs to be shed on bullying from the bullies perspective and how it can be stopped.  I think schools are doing what they can to stop it, but it doesn’t always work.  I believe that teachers should attend workshops on how to address bullying because there is a right and a wrong way to approach the situation.

For my Mashup I want to start off with clips of a student walking alone, words that describe the feelings a bullying victim feels.  I want to then show clips of students being bullied and clips of teachers trying to address bullies and their victims.  I am not sure what music I want to put in the background but I do have a vision about what I want my end product to look like.

8288a05077d27417a737bbbef1dd3a5e

Leave a Reply

